Going to a wake

Going to a wake has to be one of the most awkward things anyone has to do in their life. You walk up to the family members and don’t to know what to say other than all the cliches like “I’m so sorry for your loss,” and “How are you holding up.” No matter what you say, if you didn’t know the deceased that well or at all, nothing you say sounds right at the time. Last night, I had to go to a wake with my department. The deceased was my Captain’s father who I had never met. Looking at my Captain, I was just lost for words. He did point out, though, that for him and his family, they are some what glad that his dad finally passed, as he had been suffering his final months of life. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to say at a wake for someone that you don’t know all that well, because I hate using cliches at moments like that?

I also ask for you all to keep Robert Miller Sr. and his family in your payers.

6 Responses to “Going to a wake”


  1. 1 nick 06.27.07 at 10:59

    I am right there with you, I have no idea what to say at wakes. It’s like you want to say something profound and make everyone feel better, but you know you can’t so you say… “so, how are you?” I guess i rty to just be normal, that’s what they really need at that time, some normalcy.

  2. 2 Catherine 07.19.13 at 16:03

    If you wish for to grow your familiarity just keep
    visiting this site and be updated with the most recent news update posted here.

  3. 3 Carpet cleaning 08.14.14 at 19:48

    Hi, I desire to subscribe for this blog to obtain most recent updates, thus where can i do
    it please help.

  4. 4 alpharetta rug cleaning 12.25.17 at 00:40

    This post offers clear idea designed for the new viewers of blogging, that genuinely
    how to do blogging.


  1. 1 WatchThisFree Trackback on 12.04.11 at 11:48
  2. 2 encourage positive energy Trackback on 04.07.23 at 19:11

Leave a comment