The Case of the Missing Urn

As I believe I have mentioned before, I work contract security for one of the larger shipping companies in the world. Yesterday, I was approached by the cartage manager at my station. He stated there was a shipment going from a funeral home in our area to an address out of state. He said that the package had come up missing and he thought it may be in our station. I asked him what the package contained. He hesitated, and told me that it was an urn. “Was this urn empty or occupied?” I asked. He told me my worst fear, that it was occupied.

So, I thought, we are missing someone’s ashes, and the poor family is probably flipping out. The cartage manager did not have any of the information I needed to start looking for it on video, so, I just kind of looked around the station, but didn’t see anything that looked like it contained the urn.

Today, though, the station manager approached me and asked for my help. He said after I left, the cartage manager got the information he needed and started looking at the video, but was not able to find the box. I normally look at the video for theft investigations and have the best working knowledge of the system at our station, so he wanted me to take a look. He and I went into the video room and he told me when it went missing…August 10th. For those of you who didn’t do the quick math, that’s a day short of two weeks this poor man’s body has been missing. I quickly found the driver who had picked it up, and saw a box that matched the description go onto the belt. A short while later, I was able to track the package as it was removed from the belt because it didn’t have a shipping label on it. For some unknown reason, instead of the box going to the pile to be researched, some one on the dock tossed it into a corner. We went out onto the dock, and sure enough, Grandpa’s ashes were still there. I feel bad for the family, but the ironic part, is that the funeral home that shipped the package has been told before that the company I work for does not ship human remains. So, to try and hide it, it was the funeral home that waited almost a week and a half from when they knew there was a problem until the told us.

I feel horrible for the family. I could not even imagine finding out that one of my lovedone’s remains were sitting, collecting dust in the corner of a shipping warehouse for two weeks. Has anyone else ever had something like this happened to someone they know? How would you react if it did happen to you? Leave your thoughts in the comments.

3 Responses to “The Case of the Missing Urn”


  1. 1 nick 08.23.07 at 15:30

    I could not even imagine finding out that one of my loved one’s remains were sitting, collecting dust in the corner of a shipping warehouse for two weeks.

    Um, cough. I don’t want to sound insensitive here but that sounds kind of funny, dust collecting dust? But no, this has never happened to me, and I really hope it won’t.

  2. 2 Lacey 08.23.07 at 22:39

    I agree with Nick……I don’t think this has happened to many people….only in ur strange live would that happen.

  3. 3 mwilsonemt 08.25.07 at 10:40

    There are all kind of jokes that have been made at work. Some times in life, you have to put sensitivity aside and lighten the mood a little.


Leave a Reply

