DVD Drive Access via a Network

So, I ran into a little problem while I was trying to install some software onto my Windows box.  You see, I don’t have a DVD drive on my Windows box.  I have one on both my Linux box and my laptop, though.  So, my options were to try and access the drive via the network, rip the DVD to CD’s, or uninstall the drive from the Linux box and pop it into the windows box.  Accessing the drive via the network sounded complicated, especially because I am running two different OS’s, so that was out.  The software I was trying to install was a MS product, so without even trying, I knew ripping was out of the question.  And moving the drive was out of the question because I’m lazy, and it would have taken me half the night just to get the two computers out and open.  So, I was back to trying to get the drive shared over the network.   I use SAMBA on my Linux box to do file sharing with all my other computers.  Samba makes it really easy to share folders over the network, just a right click.  I tried a right click on the optical drive, but didn’t find the share icon in the list.  Oh well, time to head to Google.  With a little searching, I found the 7 lines of code I had to add to a Samba configure file.  Two tries latter after tweeking for specifics for my computer, and the drive was shared.  Much easier than moving the drive over, as I would have had to pull out both computers every time I ran into this problem.  But no more.

0 Responses to “DVD Drive Access via a Network”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

