Patriot Day

Patriot DayToday is Patriot Day in honor of all of the public safety personnel who have paid the ultimate sacrifice, especially those on September 11th, 2001. Like everyone else in America, I remember the moment I found out like it was yesterday. I was away at collage at the time. During the beginning of the attack, I was in a Chemistry lecture, and when I arrived at my Art Appreciation class, the teacher made the announcement that planes had crashed into the twin towers and the Pentagon. She then had the audacity to state “While other teachers have chosen to cancel their class, I have chosen to go ahead as planed,” at which point almost 75% of the class, including myself, got up and left the lecture hall. For the first few hours, I kept thinking that it was all some sort of bad dream, that I would wake up and everything would go back to normal. I never did awake from that “dream” and finally came to the realization that the world had changed forever.

Every other blog I have looked at has asked where you were, but my question is how do you plan to remember that dreadful day. I will be taking part in my county’s annual ceremony today, in my dress uniform (oh, how I hate wearing the hat and tie!!), at the county’s Fire and Police Memorial.

10 Responses to “Patriot Day”


  1. 1 Rooster 09.11.07 at 21:49

    I will remember that day as i will the day London was devastated by IRA bombs that blew up London’s City Centre, and as i will remember the day Americans were found guilty of raping, slaughtering, Innocent women and children, The world has not changed because America had some destruction, The world will always be as it is now as long as there is greed, corruption, murder, violence, (hmmm kinda reminds of 1 country in particular!) it will never change.

  2. 2 nick 09.14.07 at 06:06

    Americans were found guilty of raping, slaughtering, Innocent women and children

    Rooster, would you like to supply us with some evidence? Quite honestly I think that was the most ignorant uninformed comment I have seen. Because of the type of comment you made I realize you will most likely not return here to defend your statements you just wanted a cheap rise out of someone.

  3. 3 Rooster 09.14.07 at 06:55

    Ignorance is something that you obviously understand, as you seem ignorant of your own armed forces habits, proof of one such incident http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/6384781.stm, i could find more but maybe you should open your eyes. The whole world find this disgusting, no wonder the USA is the worlds most hated nation.

  4. 5 Rooster 09.14.07 at 07:05

    I suppose you will find Justice in that story!! Remember next 9/11 and think of Abeer at the same time.
    I do not agree with civilians being killed in any act of War or terrorism.
    9/11 had me in tears as did the last nightmare minutes Abeer went though before her rape, torment and then execution, all for the few minutes of a man and his fantasies.

    sing the star spangled banner now, and the words at the end, HOME OF THE BRAVE. “Yur avin a giraffe M8” (cockney slang).

  5. 6 mwilsonemt 09.15.07 at 08:02

    The world will always be as it is now as long as there is greed, corruption, murder, violence

    This statement is absolutely true and unfortunate. Humans are not perfect. But I will not think of Abeer next 9/11, not that it was not an unfortunate incident, but for the same reason I won’t think about the other thousands of people who are raped and murdered through out the world.

    And I will remember that we are the home of the brave. When those towers came down, we had many brave people who responded and put their own lives on the line to try to save others. See this link

    Also, I have removed one of your comments, Rooster, not because I don’t agree with it, but because I don’t feel it is appropriate for some of my readers.

  6. 7 Rooster 09.15.07 at 08:17

    “Humans are not perfect. But I will not think of Abeer next 9/11, not that it was not an unfortunate incident”

    Amazing how callous that sounds!!.
    I now see why this blog hardly atracts many visitors, i certainly will not be a visitor again.

  7. 8 nick 09.15.07 at 09:09

    Rooster… this is a pointless argument with you. And yes, humans are not perfect. I am positive soldiers from your country have done the same types of things as well. This is a war, war messes with you. And furthermore you have no idea who you are talking to, for all you know one of us could have been affected directly by 9-11, family, friends, etc. That is what i meant by ignorant.

    BTW, dude, this blog is new! If you would actually look around! If you have such a freaking problem with this site leave! Right now all you are is a freaking Troll! He puts up a serious memorial for a tragic event and you make a mockery of it! You, my friend are pathetic!

  8. 9 nick 09.15.07 at 09:50

    I now see why this blog hardly atracts many visitors, i certainly will not be a visitor again.

    big words coming from a blog with 648 hits.

  9. 10 mwilsonemt 09.16.07 at 15:02

    Rooster, That’s so sad, I’ll miss someone who attacts my nation. God bless you Rooster.


Leave a Reply

