Security at Home Tip of the Week: How to prevent a car break-in

I have had my car broken into twice now and have learned from my mistakes. The most important thing to remember is that car break-ins are a crime of opportunity.

  • If you don’t give someone a reason to break-into you car chances are they won’t.
  • If your stereo has a removable face plate, take it with you.
  • Hide anything of value.
  • Stick your CDs under your seat.
  • Put your lap top in your truck or take it with you.
  • Stick your MP3 player in the glove box.

And the three most common sense deerants:

  • Don’t leave your car in bad neighborhoods.
  • Lock your doors when you leave your car.
  • Close your windows before you leave.

Both times my car was broken into, the only thing that was taken was my stereo. Both times I got complacent and didn’t take my faceplate off the stereo. Have any of you ever had your car broken into? What was taken? Do you have any other suggestions that I didn’t list? Comment if you have. Also, if you have any ideas for a Security at Home Tip of the Week, leave it in the comments.

2 Responses to “Security at Home Tip of the Week: How to prevent a car break-in”


  1. 1 nick 07.26.07 at 06:41

    Dude I have had my car broken into twice. The first time was at Marcus Theater, I was parked front row and center right in from of the main doors and someone was gutsy enough to break in a take my stereo. The second was at work… in broad daylight… with security cameras everywhere. The guy had to have worked there and knew just the right spot he could stand to get away with it. It sucked!

  2. 2 mwilsonemt 07.26.07 at 13:23

    One of mine was at work, too. I think it was someone on the inside because there was a camera aimed right at my car, but it just happened to not be recording. The police thought it was fairly odd that a company as large as I was working for couldn’t afford to record all of their cameras. The other was out in front of my place in Las Vegas. They both sucked!!


Leave a Reply

