Sweat computer irony

About a month ago, my mom’s computer completely went dead. I told her that it was either a bad power supply or a blown mother board and wouldn’t be incredibly hard to fix. She decided she just wanted to get a new computer instead. My mom really only uses her computer for Internet and e-mail and the occasional Word document, so she really didn’t need to upgrade. I asked her if I could take the old computer off her hands to tinker with (or sit around like a lot of other no working electronics I have). Well, after briefly bench testing it, I was 99% sure it was the power supply. I stopped in at Fry’s today (boy it’s dangerous having one right down the street) and picked up a cheep 360watt power supply for $32. I brought it home, hooked it up, and the computer booted right up. Needless to say that my mom’s hastiness upset her just a little bit.

2 Responses to “Sweat computer irony”


  1. 1 Aidan L 07.20.07 at 15:55

    That sounds just like my Mum, apart from it is always word processed documents with the obligatory e-mail checking and internet surfing šŸ˜‰ .

    I noticed Ubuntu on your blogroll… Would you happen to be an Ubuntu user? (Hopefully I haven’t put two and two together and got eighteen haha!)

  2. 2 Mike 07.20.07 at 19:49

    Yes, I am an Ubuntu user, but I’m really new to the whole Linux world. I also have Suse on my desktop, but will be moving that to Ubuntu soon:)


Leave a Reply

