My start in HTML

So I started my step into html today. I found a web site that is walking me through it. It seems to be really easy, as long as you can keep track of the different commands. I figured learning html would be a good starting place. I would eventually like to learn css, but didn’t want to jump off the deep end. CSS looks quite a bit more difficult that html. My bet is that CSS will be out dated by the time I get around to learning it, but oh well.

4 Responses to “My start in HTML”


  1. 1 nick 07.06.07 at 19:14

    Good luck man, but I would really suggest goin straight into CSS 🙂

  2. 2 Ben Gray 07.06.07 at 21:48

    Think of it this way:

    HTML is like the framing of a house, the 2x4s, the concrete slab for the foundation, the rafters, the floor joists, etc.

    CSS is the sheet rock, the marble counter tops and the shingles.

    Learn HTML first, get a handle on it and what’s going on in the structure of a site. But don’t take too long on this, because in the modern web CSS is very connected with HTML and you can’t avoid it for long.

    If you have any questions feel free to email me or call me.

  3. 3 nick 07.07.07 at 04:59

    Trust him, he knows what he’s talking about. I am still learning that’s why y comment was meant more as a joke.

  4. 4 Mike 07.07.07 at 10:41

    Thanks for your suggestions. My goal is to eventual code my own site. My other reason for learning HTML is to be able to edit basic things on comments in blogs and on myspace.


Leave a Reply

